Broccoli Slaw: Great for Potlucks or Cookouts!

I previously mentioned that my brother had a birthday party recently.  Well, he specifically requested that I bring this broccoli slaw for his party.  Since it was a request, I had to honor it, right?  What kind of monster would I be to deny him his birthday wish?  Ok, that might be taking it a bit too far, but he did ask for this as part of his birthday dinner!

This recipe makes a ton, so it’s great for a potluck.  If you’re having it at home with your family, unless you’re the Duggars, you probably will want to cut it in half.  What’s also great about it is that there’s no mayonnaise in it, so it can sit out without you having to worry about giving the gift of salmonella.

I originally saw this on Paula Deen’s show, but I’ve made some…modifications.  This is “Not Your Paula Deen’s Broccoli Slaw.”  I’m just not sure it’s necessary for slaw to contain almost a whole stick of butter.  Ok, I am.  I am sure.  It’s not necessary.  I also cut the oil in the recipe significantly.  Oh, and I added dried cranberries.  So, here’s my slightly different, slightly healthier version.

Broccoli Slaw

Ingredients:

  • 1 3-ounce package Ramen Noodle Soup in Oriental flavor (I’ve also used chicken flavor in a pinch)
  • 1 T butter
  • 1/4 cup slivered or sliced almonds
  • 2 (12-ounce) bags broccoli cole slaw
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries, chopped (optional)
  • 1-2 scallions, finely chopped (optional)
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 ramen noodle seasoning packet

Directions:

Crush up Ramen noodles.  Melt butter in a skillet over low-medium, and add crushed noodles and almonds.  Toast, stirring occasionally, approximately 5-8 minutes, or until they become fragrant and just begin to brown.  Set aside to cool.

Whisk together the oil, sugar, vinegar, water, and seasoning packet.  Put shredded broccoli, sunflower seeds, cranberries, and green onions into a large bowl and toss with dressing.

You can serve this right away, but I think it is better if it sits with the dressing on it for at least an hour.  Right before you’re ready to serve, add in the toasted noodles and almonds.

3 thoughts on “Broccoli Slaw: Great for Potlucks or Cookouts!

  1. The dressing was really runny and didn’t stick to the slaw very well. I loved the taste of the roasted noodles and almonds though!

    1. Sorry you had troubles with the dressing. I so t find that mine does that- it turns out like any vinegar and oil slaw for me. Maybe decrease the water a little or whisk the dressing more to emulsify the oil more.

Leave a comment