Homemade Hot Chocolate Mix

DSC_0251I have been making my own hot chocolate mix for about four years now. Originally, I just thought it would be fun to make it for us to have on cold winter nights, so put it in a huge canister and we enjoy it all winter long. But after a couple of years of making this, I decided to make an extra batch to give as fun little gifts. This is really cute in a seasonally decorated cellophane bag or a jar, topped with a few marshmallows and maybe even a few chocolate chips.

This makes a huge batch, so I usually share it with my mom because Tim and I can’t go through that much hot chocolate in one winter by ourselves. Just to gild the lily, I like to add some peppermint mocha coffee creamer to mine. Tim likes a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar on his. Yum!

DSC_0308

This year I changed up my recipe a little. My old recipe used a premixed chocolate milk powder, but this one uses more cocoa powder and powdered sugar. I do like this one better. It just seems a little richer and more decadent. There’s also a little trick I tried this year, and that is to put the powdered milk in the food processor to turn it into a really fine powder. I do find that helps the mix dissolve into the liquid better. Since there’s already powdered milk in the mix, I make my hot chocolate with water, but for extra creaminess, you could use milk.

Whether you make this for your family or decide to share it with friends and neighbors, I hope you like it!

DSC_0253

Homemade Hot Chocolate Mix

  • 1 box of powdered milk – 10 cups
  • 1 2 lb. bag of powdered sugar
  • 2 cups of powdered coffee creamer
  • 2 cups of good quality unsweetened cocoa powder (I used about 1.5 cups of milk chocolate and .5 cup of dark chocolate…and then a little extra just because)

Directions:

DSC_0302In the food processor, pulse the powdered milk until it’s a fine powder. Get the biggest bowl you have and add the powdered milk, powdered sugar, and coffee creamer. Sift in the cocoa powder. Carefully mix with a large spoon until well combined.

I use a heaping 1/4 cup of mix (okay, about 1/3 of a cup of mix) to one mug of hot water. Top with marshmallows if desired.

DSC_0259

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Hot Chocolate Mix

  1. I absolutely love your blog.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you develop this site yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m wanting to create my own blog and would love
    to find out where you got this from or just what the theme is
    named. Thank you!

  2. Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an
    established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.

    I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not
    sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Cheers

    1. I used a free theme from WordPress (Pilcrow) and it was really simple to set up. I think WordPress is really easy to use once you learn your way around it. If you have moderate technology skills you’ll be fine. 🙂

Leave a comment